Projects Overview


This video is divided into chapters, to skip directly to the projects section, please click here

After creating an organization, the first thing you will need to do is create projects and assign them to your team members (or yourself). Your team won’t be able to track any time unless they are assigned to a project, so this step is very important.

But don’t worry, creating projects within Hubstaff is very simple.

Table of Contents

How to create a new project

Step 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu.

Step 2

Click Add project.

Step 3

Next, choose a name for your project and assign/add the relevant members.

Typically, team members are assigned as Users within a project. This will give them the ability to track time against the project, but not other permissions. Managers will also be able to track time against the project, however they will have access to view all of the data associated with that project. Please note Viewers will not be able to track any time against the project. If you wish to learn more about the different role types within Hubstaff, please see our guide here.

If you have a premium subscription, you can also designate a client to assign the project too.

Once all fields are completed, click Save to finalize the project.

How to edit project memberships and roles from the Projects section

Step 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu, then click on the project you wish to edit.

Step 2

Next, click on the Edit members button.

Step 3

A dialogue will appear allowing you to assign/re-assign members to the project and also change their roles.

Once the necessary edits are made, click Save to finalize the changes.

How to edit project memberships and roles from the Members section

Step 1

Select Members from the main navigation menu. Hover your cursor under the Projects column and click on the pencil icon that appears.

Step 2

A dialogue will appear allowing you to make changes to the membership and roles for each project.

Once the necessary edits are made, click Save to finalize the changes.

How projects appear on the tracking client

Once your team members are assigned to projects they will appear in their tracking clients. Projects will appear in the highlighted section of the desktop tracker as shown below. The user can simply click on the name of the project to select it, then press the Start button to begin tracking their time.

Please note team members must be assigned as either a User or Manager to be able to track time against projects.

How to change the Project Name

Step 1

To change the name of a Project, first select Projects from the main navigation menu. Then click on Actions beside the relevant project name, and select Edit project from the drop down menu.

Step 2

A pop up dialogue will appear. Enter the new name of the project in the Name field. Click Save to confirm the changes.

 

How to archive a project

Step 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu. Click on the Actions beside the the project you wish to archive, then click Archive project.

Step 2

A pop up notification will appear. Select Ok to confirm you wish to archive the project.

If you have archived a project, and wish to restore it, please follow the steps in our guide here to learn how to do so.

Transfer a Project to another Organization

Step 1

Select Projects from the main navigation menu. Click on the Actions beside the the project you wish to transfer, then click Transfer.

Step 2

A pop up dialogue will appear. Select the organization you wish to transfer the project to from the drop down menu under the Destination Organization section. Click Save to confirm you wish to process the transfer.

Step 3

Under your Projects section, you can confirm the project has been transferred to the new organization.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No