Teamwork Projects Time Tracking

Teamwork Projects Time Tracking

Hubstaff supports Teamwork Projects time tracking, which you can use to track and import time directly to your Teamwork PM tasks.

IMPORTANT: You must connect your account in order to see tasks in Hubstaff that are assigned to you. Also, connecting an integration allows for time to be sent back to the third-party software.

If you choose to write back time into Teamwork issues, the time tracked will appear on the Time Logs section as shown here:

Time tracked to Teamwork tasks are written back to the Time logs section of the task page.

Step 1

To get started click on Integrations on the sidebar menu. Then make sure you have selected the correct organization on the top right corner of the page. Next, select the Teamwork logo from the list of available integrations as shown below.

Step 2

You will be asked to give your integration a name. You can choose anything here, the name is only for your reference. Click the Create Integration button, and you will be taken to where you enter your Teamwork’s details. You will need your API Token and the exact URL of your Teamwork site. To get your API token, first, click on your profile in the top right corner of your Teamwork account, and choose Edit my Details:

Step 3

A window will pop up which you will need to click on the API tab on the right, then click the option to Show your token (you may need to Turn ON the API for my account first):

Step 4

With your API Token and site URL in hand, you will be able to fill out the required information for setup. Click Next to continue.

Note: Custom domains are not supported. Hubstaff supports only *.teamwork.com domains (example: hubstaff.teamwork.com).

Make sure to enter your full Teamwork PM URL (with https). If you don’t include the https the integration will not work.

Step 5

Once you’ve done that, you’ll be taken back to Hubstaff where you can complete the integration by linking your projects and users.

  1. Sync all – all projects are synced to Hubstaff, and if a project with the same name doesn’t exist, each new project will automatically be created and synced once you click on the Confirm button.
  2. Select from list – allows you to choose which projects to connect to Hubstaff. Check or uncheck project names on the left column. You can also enable the “Sync new projects daily” setting so all new projects are automatically linked to Hubstaff. You can also choose to manually sync projects. Choose either “Select All,” or “Unselect All,” or manually choose each project you wish to link to Hubstaff. Click on “Next” to move to the next step.

 

Step 6

Next, you’ll need to connect users to your integration. Make sure the “Automatically add new users” option is enabled so that all new users added to Hubstaff are automatically added to your integration. You can also choose to “Select all,” “Unselect all,” or manually choose which users you want working on your integration. Click Finish to end the setup.

Each user will be sent a confirmation email with a link to authenticate their account. After authenticating, they will be connected to your integration and will see the tasks assigned.

 

Step 7

Your integration will sync in the next 30 minutes or so. Once it has synced, any of your linked users will be able to see their assigned Teamwork tasks in the Hubstaff app and be able to track time to them.

Select the project name from the project list located on the left side of the app, then click the Play button next to the task name on the right-hand side. Teamwork supports task completion, and you can press the Complete button to mark the task as completed.

Depending on your integration’s time logging settings, time tracked to Teamwork tasks will be synced back on the Time Logs section of the task:

 

Tasks might not sync right away and can take approximately 5 minutes to sync after linking your team. Also, please keep in mind that each time you add a new project or user to your project management tool, the integration needs be refreshed in Hubstaff for those changes to take effect, then link those accordingly.

Currently, when you add a new project in the project management third-party provider, you need to access the integrations page in Hubstaff > refresh the projects list > link the new project > assign team members to the Hubstaff project that’s linked to the newly added project.

This integration supports logging time back to the integration as time entries. To learn more, click here.

Tasks can be completed outside Hubstaff in the project management tool to have the time synced as well.

Tasks synchronized with an integration will remain in Hubstaff as a simple task if the integration is deleted.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No