Adding and assigning projects in Hubstaff

Add Projects in Hubstaff

Now that you have your organization set up, the next thing to do is to start your first project.  Projects are meant to organize the work within an organization. Projects can be organized however you want, but typically they would be something like this:

  • Marketing
  • Development
  • Graphic Design
  • Accounting / Bookkeeping

Or you could for example have several website properties under one organization.  In this scenario, you could break down projects like this.

  • www.site1.com
  • www.site2.com
  • www.site3.com

You can set up projects however you want, and can always be changed later down the road.

In order to setup projects you just need to follow these simple steps:

Step 1

Click on Projects on the sidebar menu

 

Step 2

Select the organization you want to add projects in the top-right corner in the organization filter, and click Add project.

Step 3

Next, choose a name for your project and assign/add the relevant members. You can type the member’s name either in the manager, user or viewer box, select/deselect all, click the “x” next to a member to remove project membership.  (You can also drag & drop the members across the different roles.)

You can also select a client for your new project. ( if you have added clients to Hubstaff).

Once the information is entered correctly, click ‘Save’ and the project will be created.

Edit Project Memberships and Roles

Step 1

Click on Projects in the left sidebar, and then click on the project you wish to edit.

Step 2

Next, click on the Edit members button.

Step 3

You will see a dialogue where you should be able to assign/re-assign members to the project and change their roles.

 

Below is an alternate way to add members to projects:

Step 1

Click on Members on the sidebar menu, and then Edit under the project column next to the user you’d like to reassign

Step 2

Next, select the memberships and roles for each project


You can add as many team members as you’d like, within the limit of the plan you’ve selected on Hubstaff.
The Users will select these projects from their desktop client which will allow them to track time to these projects.



The user then will be shown all the projects that you have enabled them to track time to on Hubstaff.


 

When the user selects the project from their desktop to track time to all time tracked will be connected with that specific project until they switch to another project.

As we mentioned before projects should be set up in a way which is most convenient for you and your organization. You can simply have one project called “Work” if that is the best practice for you and your team to track time, It all depends on your management style and relationship with your team.

Click here to learn more about the roles and permissions within Hubstaff.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No