Hubstaff Roles and Permissions Guide

Hubstaff Permissions Guide

You can assign different roles to various team members to designate the level of access allowed for each team member within your organization. Read on to find out what features are available to each team member’s role.

The owner has control over the entire organization. They can add and remove new members, select a plan, add and remove integrations, configure payroll, set budgets, and edit the organization settings. If you want a user to have complete control over the organization, you would make them an organization owner (Full Admin access) which is the only role that has access to see all the pay rates and bill rates of all the users in the organization.
Managers on an organization level are able to invite new team members, create projects, add and remove users from projects, and view all time tracked and activities (screenshots, activity levels, and apps & URLs). Managers also have access to change the organization settings.
Please note: Managers can see their own pay rates, but not the pay rates of other users.
Managers on the project level can manage, track, and view reports for any projects they are added to. They can also see the information of the users under that project where they have a manager role. Project Managers can see their own pay rates, but not the pay rates of other users.
The user is your worker. They can only see their own time data. They aren’t able to see other users on the organization’s details or pay rates, and they aren’t able to see projects that they aren’t members of. Users can see their own pay rates, but not the pay rates of other users.
This is the access given to clients that are added to the organization. They can view reports for any projects they are added to. They are not allowed to track time or manage settings. Viewers are free.
Multiple project roles mean that you have different permissions on more than one project that you are assigned to. You can be assigned to one project as a user and another as a manager and so on.
This role is only available within the Teams feature. This provides a team’s team leader specific access permissions depending on what features are activated for that user. Click here to learn more.

Hubstaff Permissions Table

Organization Roles

Teams

Category

Feature

Owner

Organization Manager

Project Manager

User

Project Viewer

Non-Hubstaff User

Team Lead

Organization

Create an Organization

Edit Organization

Archive Organization

Restore Organization

Leave Organization

Delete Organization *

Dashboard

View Me Dashboard

View Team Dashboard

Assigned Projects

Members

View Organization Members

Add Users

View and Manage Invites

Change User Roles

Assigned Projects

Manage Teams

Manage Assigned Projects

Manage Pay Periods

Manage Pay/Bill Rates

Enable Timesheet Approvals

Set Daily/Weekly Limits

Enable/Disable Time Tracking

Remove Users

Self

Self

Teams

Create Teams

Modify Team members

Add/Remove Team Leads

Modify Team projects

Projects

Create Projects

Team members – when enabled

View Projects

Assigned projects

Edit Projects

Team members – when enabled

Archive Projects

Delete Projects (NA)

Add Project Members

Team members – when enabled

Promote/Demote Users In Projects

Team members – when enabled

Remove Members In Project

View Project Members

Assigned projects

View Project Budget

Assigned projects

Manage Project Budget

Leave Project

Transfer Projects (Same Account)

Tasks

Add/Edit/Remove Tasks

Assigned Projects

Assigned Projects

Mark Tasks as Complete

Assigned Projects

Assigned Projects

Activity

View Screenshots

Assigned Projects

Assigned Projects

Delete Screenshots

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled (Limited)

Setting Enabled (Limited)

Modify (Move/Reassign/Delete) Screenshots

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled (Limited)

Setting Enabled (Limited)

View Apps

Assigned Projects

Self

Assigned Projects

View URLs

Assigned Projects

Self

Assigned Projects

View Locations

Assigned Projects

Self

Assigned Projects

Timesheets

View Timesheets

Assigned Projects

Self

Assigned Projects

Add/Edit/Delete Time

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled

Setting Enabled

Approve Timesheets

Team members – when enabled

Reports

Generate Reports

Assigned Projects

Self

Assigned Projects

Invoices

Create Client Invoices

View Client Invoices

Mark Payment on Client Invoice

Create Team Invoices

Self

Self

Self

View Team Invoices

Self

Self

Self

Mark Payment on Team invoice

Self

Self

Self

Self

Team members – when enabled

Schedules

View Schedules

Team members – when enabled

Add Schedules

Team members – when enabled

Modify Schedules

Team members – when enabled

Time Off

Add Time Off Policies

Add Holiday Policies

Edit Time Off Balances

Approve Time Off Requests

Team members – when enabled

Job Sites

Add/Remove Job Sites

Edit Job Sites

Clients

Add Clients

Remove Clients

Edit Clients

Integration

Add integration

Remove integration

Reauthenticate integration

Change Integration Settings

Payments

Manage Payroll

View Past Team Payments

Change Organization Settings

Change Subscription Plan

Add/Remove Features

 

* – Deleting an organization permanently is not available on the web dashboard. Please contact us to request deletion.
Setting Enabled (Limited) – A user role in the organization (including project managers) can only delete the screenshots together with the corresponding timesheet or time block.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No