How Hubstaff desktop tracking works
Before time tracking, the data collection consent pop-up will appear, letting you know what information the app records while tracking time. You can also configure what data is recorded by changing the settings on your preferences page.
The Hubstaff desktop application tracks the following information while the user is tracking time:
Our desktop apps record screenshots only when the timer is started. Depending on the organization settings, it can record 1-3x screenshots every 10-minute period, as well as be disabled for individual users or for the entire team.
Mouse and keyboard activity
Hubstaff records keyboard and mouse activity while tracking time. The app only records in binary (active=1, inactive=0) if there is activity and does not log individual keystrokes or actual mouse movement.
Activity is displayed under each screenshot:
For more information about how Hubstaff calculates activity levels, click here.
While tracking time, the desktop app also records application data when enabled. The app will only record application data when a user is actively using the app. For example, if a user has Google Chrome and Microsoft Word open while tracking time, the app will only record app data for the app where a user is actively typing or clicking/moving the mouse.
The desktop app records URL/web address data when enabled. Just like the app recording feature, the URLs will only be recorded when a user is active (via keyboard/mouse) on the website.
For a detailed guide on how activity recording works, click here.