Hubstaff Schedules

You are able to schedule work shifts and automatically monitor the attendance of your team with Hubstaff’s new attendance system, Schedules.

Here’s what Hubstaff Schedules can do:

  • Schedule work shifts for your team
  • View schedules by entire team or by individual
  • Create one-time or recurring shifts for team members
  • Send reminders to team members if they are late
  • Notices to the team owners for missed shifts, late shifts and abandoned shifts
Attendance Scheduling is a Premium feature. Please see here for a difference in Hubstaff plan types
Only organization owners and managers are able to create schedules for users on the organization.

Table of contents:

Getting Started

To get started, click on the Schedules tab on the left sidebar.

 

You can navigate to previous or future weeks using the navigation arrows.

By default, all users on your team are shown. You can view the schedule of a single user with the user dropdown on the right or by clicking the user on the left of the schedule.

  1. The date controls are on the left. Select the week you’d like to view.
  2. Click the Add schedule button on the right to create a new shift.

Creating a New Schedule / Shift

Click the Add Schedule button to create a new shift for a user. Then fill in the details below:

  1. User name
  2. Shift Duration
    1. From Date
    2. Shift Start time
    3. Shift End time
    4. To Date
  3. Timezone
    1. Organization timezone
    2. Member timezone
  4. Minimum Hours – the minimum hours a user is required to work (for example if their shift runs from 9am to 5pm (8 hours) with a 30 minute lunch break, you can place 7.5 minimum hours.
  5. Recurring Shift Options
    1. Never
    2. Weekly
    3. Bi-Weekly
  6. Repeats Until – the last day the recurring shifts are applied.
  7. Days – select the days the shifts will repeat.
  8. Click on Save to save changes.

After creating a schedule, you will see the schedule plotted on the Schedules screen:
 

Individual View

If you select the specific user, you will see a larger calendar view that includes the hours which looks like this:

 

Deleting Shifts

You can delete a shift by clicking on the shift you created under Schedules.

After clicking on the shift, you will receive a popup window where you can Delete or Edit the schedule. Click on Delete to remove the schedule.

You’ll then see the option to either delete that specific shift, or all the shifts in the series:

Monitoring Schedules

Hubstaff’s attendance scheduling is powerful because it allows you to always know when your employees are working during their shifts or not. You no longer have to chase employees down to find if they were working or not. If they use the Hubstaff app to track their time during their scheduled shift, no notifications will be sent and you’ll know they worked when they were supposed to. If they weren’t working when they were scheduled to, you will get notified.

The three types of Schedule notifications that get sent are as follows:

Late Shifts

If the user doesn’t start tracking time within the first 5 minutes of when their shift is scheduled to begin, they will be counted as late and a notification will be sent 30 minutes after shift start.

Missed shifts

If the user doesn’t track any time during their shift, the shift is missed and a notification will be sent when the shift ends.

Abandoned Shifts

If the user tracks time during their shift but doesn’t meet the minimum hour requirement, the shift will be incomplete and a notification will be sent.

Other notifications that get sent let users know when they are added to a shift and when a shift is updated for them. As the organization owner, you will get summary notifications letting you know of all the late, missed, and abandoned shifts as well (similar to the work summary emails).

Notification Control

You can control the notifications in your organization settings by clicking on the Settings tab on the left sidebar. You’ll see the Shift Alerts option on the left hand menu. You can then enable alerts for users and owners/managers, just users, or never. Like the other Hubstaff settings, you can set this at the organization level or at a user by user basis:

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No