About per-user pricing

Hubstaff offers a Per-User subscription pricing model. Under this pricing model, you have the flexibility of being able to add or remove members from your organization whenever you wish and only save money by only paying for the number of members on your team.

Table of Contents

How much does the Per User subscription cost?

On a new plan, the minimum cost is for 2 members including users, organization owners, and managers.

Plan Basic Premium Enterprise
Users (2 users minimum) 2 2 2
Cost per User  $         7.00  $       10.00  $       20.00
Monthly Cost  $       14.00  $       20.00  $       40.00
Annual Cost (17% discount, or 2 months free)  $     140.00  $     200.00  $     400.00

Click here to see what features are available for each plan type.

Each time we add a new member, the system will prorate the remaining time for that user and charge you the next day. When we remove users, the unused time for that team member will be provided as credits on your next bill.

How does the Per User subscription model work?

Under our Per-User subscription model, you will be charged every month (or every year on an annual plan) for every user within your organization. Even if the member does not track any time, or is disabled for tracking, they will still count towards your total member count. This also includes yourself as the account owner or any other administrators/managers within your organization as well.

For example, if you have 4 workers, plus yourself as the owner, you will be charged $7 x 5 = $35 per month for the Basic plan with 5 users within your account.

The only team members who do not count towards your total plan size are those assigned with a Viewer role.

What happens when users are added or removed?

Every additional user you invite into the organization will increase your billing by 1 user count. The cost of this will depend on the plan type you are subscribed to – $7 for our Basic plan, $10 for our Premium plan, and $20 for our Enterprise plan.

Our billing software automatically prorates the costs of adding or removing team members from your organization. The charge for adding or removing members will come through the next day.

Sample Computation:

Original plan: 5-User Basic plan at $35/month
New plan: 6-User Basic plan at $42/month
Billing date: Every 15th of the month
User added: 1 user, January 31st (middle of the billing period)

Unused time from 5 User Basic plan
Date Charged Next Bill Date Days remaining Days in month Unused time Value
31-Jan-20 15-Feb-20 15 31 48%  $         16.94
Remaining time for 6 User Basic plan
Date Today Next Bill Date Days remaining Days in month Remaining time Value
31-Jan-20 15-Feb-20 15 31 48%  $         20.32
Total  $           3.39

In other words, all monthly subscription plans have a recurring monthly billing date. However, if any changes are made to a plan (eg. a new member is added or removed) during that billing period, the new charges will be applied the next day. So the amount owing (or the amount to be credited) will automatically be prorated by our billing software. 

Do you offer a Solo or 1 user plan?

No, we do not offer a paid Solo or 1 user plan. Our only 1 user plan is our Free plan, which has a limited number of features available. Please see our guide here to learn more about the different features available per plan type. 

Our minimum user count for our paid plans starts at 2 users. So if you wish to use our other features you will need to purchase a paid plan, even if you only intend to have one user within your organization. 

Is there any way I can add a member into my organization without them counting towards my plan count?

If a user is assigned a Project Viewer role within your organization level, they will not be counted towards your total user count. The cost of your subscription will automatically be prorated and adjusted once the team member is set to the Project Viewer status. By default, all users added to an organization will be assigned as Project Viewers if a role hasn’t been pre-selected for them.

To learn more about the differences between the roles available at Hubstaff please see our guide here.

How can I change my plan to a “Per user” plan?

Step 1

In your billing area, you will see a banner offering the option to switch. To get there, click on “Settings” and then “Billing“:

Step 2

The banner will be showing at the top of the page and has a button to click on for making the switch “Switch to per-user pricing“.

Step 3

You will be presented with a dialog showing the current plan you have as well as details regarding the plan you would be switching to. Please note the message at the bottom stating that once you change to per-user, you cannot go back to the old plan. Click “Switch to per-user pricing” if you would like to continue with the change.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No