Members can be invited individually to Hubstaff or in bulk to begin tracking time. To get started, click on one of the links below:
- Inviting individual members
- Bulk inviting members
- Resending invitations
- Additional actions after the invitation is sent
Inviting individual members
Navigate to People > Members on the left sidebar of your web dashboard.
Click on the Invite member button located towards the right-hand corner of the page.
The Invite member dialog box will appear. Here, under EMAIL, you can enter your member’s email address. You can also enter multiple email addresses separated by commas. (If you are a large organization inviting members in bulk, please skip to the Bulk inviting members section of this article). Then, set the roles assigned to the invited members and the projects to which each member should belong, and click Send.
A dialog box will appear confirming that the invite has been sent to the recipient/s:
Each member will receive an email inviting them to join your organization.
Once they click on Accept Invite, they will be taken to the Hubstaff signup page to create their personal Hubstaff account.
The following information is required Full name, Email, Password, Agree to the Terms, Privacy and DPA, once added click Create my account.
After signing up, the invitation will be accepted, and clicking on the Go button will take your team members to their dashboard.
You can now go back to the People > Members page on your sidebar to confirm that the user was successfully added to your organization.
Bulk inviting members
Navigate to the People > Members tab on the left sidebar.
Click on the Invite member button located on the right-hand corner of the page.
The Invite member dialog will appear. Click on the Copy invite link button.
A dialog box will appear confirming that the invite link has been copied.
The invite link will be copied to your computer’s clipboard.
You can share the invite link with your team members to ask them to join your organization.
Once members click the invite link, they’ll be taken to the Hubstaff signup page to create their personal Hubstaff account.
After signing up, the invite will be accepted, and clicking on the Go button will take your team members to their dashboard.
You can now go back to the Members page on your sidebar to confirm that a member was successfully added to your organization.
Click on the Onboarding status button.
The dialog allows owners/managers to check which members have created a Hubstaff account, downloaded the app, tracked time, and also send reminders to members to complete setting up their accounts.
The team onboarding status popup will appear, which will have the following columns, and checkmarks will appear under the column next to the member’s name if they have completed the step.
You’ll now have full transparency into seeing what your members have and have not completed during onboarding and what is preventing them from using Hubstaff correctly.
Additional actions after the invitation is sent
Once you have sent the invitation, you get access to additional actions.
Click on the People > Members > Invites tab on the left sidebar.
Near the invitation, click on the Actions button (1), and you will see several options.
Edit role and membership
- Name – allows you to add a member’s name the way you want. It only works if the invited member didn’t have an account with the email address used for the invitation, and will create it after accepting the invitation. If they already have an account with Hubstaff, this field will be pre-filled.
- Role – allows you to choose the invited member’s role.
- Projects – this allows you to assign the invited member to the needed projects.
Edit payment details
- Pay rate – allows you to edit the pay rate.
- Pay period – here you may select the required payment period.
- Timesheets approval – may be enabled here.
Edit weekly limit
Here, you may set a weekly limit to control the maximum number of hours a member will be able to track per week.
If the person no longer has the invitation and needs to be sent another one, click on Actions > Resend invite.
If you don’t want to add the invited member, you still may delete the pending invitation. For this, click on Actions > Delete invite and confirm it.