How to change Organization and Project roles

With multiple roles available in Hubstaff, you are able to design your organizations and projects access levels. Each member of your organization and projects can have varying access levels by modifying their role.

By default, all projects and users are accessible to Organization Owners and Managers. They only need to be a member of a project if they wish to track their time on it.

All Organization Owners are counted as users toward the billing. Check out our User Role and Permissions Guide to see what level of access each role has.

Organization and Project roles can be changed from both the –

Changing Organization and Project Roles from the Members Page

Step 1

You can change the organization and project role through the Members page. Firstly, navigate to People on the sidebar then select Members from the drop-down menu. Also, ensure you have selected the correct organization in the top right corner of the page.

 

Step 2

Secondly, if you have a large number of employees in your company, you can easily use the Search members field or apply filters for Role and Time Tracking.

Step 3

Lastly, you will find the Role column below. By clicking on the pencil icon, you will get the Role drop-down menu. Here, you can choose the role that the user will play at the organization level.

To change the role on the project level, click the pencil icon under the Projects column. Here, you can change the member’s project role.

  1. Organization roles apply to all projects in the organization.
  2. Project roles apply to the selected specific projects only.

Changing Project Roles from the Projects Page

Step 1

As an alternative, you can also use the Projects page to change Member roles.

Firstly, click on Project management on the left menu and select Projects from the drop-down menu.

 

Step 2

Secondly, choose the Project where you want to edit the user roles.

 

Step 3

When you click on a Project Name, the Project page will open. Here, you can modify individual user roles by selecting their project roles from the drop-down menu. Accordingly, this is a quick edit option.

Step 4

As an alternative, you can click on Edit members to get more options.

Step 5

A dialog box will appear when you click the Edit Members button. Here, you can assign/re-assign members to the project and change their roles. You can type the members’ names in the text boxes, select/deselect all, click “x” next to a member to remove them from the project, or even drag and drop the members between the roles. Once all revisions have been made, click Save.

Here you can set different roles for different members (managers, users, and viewers). Moreover, you can even set roles for the entire team.

For more information about user permissions, please click here.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No