Jira Time Tracking Setup

jira header3

Hubstaff supports integrations with both Jira Cloud and Jira Software Server.The Jira integration supports data write-back. You can enable this in the Integration settings. Please note that Jira does not count seconds during the writeback, as such, the totals may differ between Hubstaff and Jira.

Team-managed (formerly Next-gen) projects are currently not supported. The integration only supports Company-managed (or Classic) projects from Jira.

This integration writes the data as timesheets.

Jira Time Tracking Setup

If you use Jira for project management, you can use Hubstaff to track time to individual tasks. You’ll have no problem importing all of your team’s tasks by following the steps below.

IMPORTANT: You must connect your account in order to see tasks that are assigned to you. Also, connecting an integration allows for time to be sent back to the third-party software.

The first step is to click on Settings & Policies > Integrations on the sidebar menu. Then make sure you have selected the correct organization on the top right corner of the page. Next, select the JIRA logo from the list of available integrations.

menu settings & policies integrations

You will be asked to give your integration a name. You can choose anything here, the name is only for your reference. Click the Create Integration button, and you will be taken to a screen that gives you instructions on what you need to do to configure your Jira instance for the Hubstaff integration.

Custom domains are not supported. Hubstaff supports only *.atlassian.net domains (example: hubstaff.atlassian.net).

Step 1

Log in to your Jira Instance and create a new Application Link. On the top right corner click the Gear icon.

On the settings menu, click on the Products tab.

Step 2

Next, you are going to click on Application links, under INTEGRATIONS

Step 3

After clicking on Application links, you can enter https://app.hubstaff.com/ as the Application URL and click Create new link.

You will get an error, just click Continue.

In the pop-up window that follows, enter Hubstaff as the Application Name, select Generic Application, and click Continue. Please note that you only need to fill up the first two fields (application name and application type) before clicking “continue”.

Step 4

Now that your Application link has been created, you need to click on the edit pencil icon next to it to get things configured properly.

Click on Incoming Authentication and enter the Consumer Key; this is shown in the JIRA integration set up instructions in Hubstaff on step 7. Then, type Hubstaff for the Consumer Name. Next, copy the long certificate from the JIRA integration setup on step 9 and paste that into the Public Key text box. Once you’ve gone through all these steps, scroll down towards the very end and click the Save button.

Back to the JIRA integration setup in Hubstaff. Name the integration whatever you like and paste your JIRA instance URL. Then click the Next button.

You will be taken to where you can authorize the integration:

Step 5

Once you’ve done that, you’ll be taken back to Hubstaff where you can complete the integration by linking your projects and users.

  1. Sync all – all projects are synced to Hubstaff, and if a project with the same name doesn’t exist, each new project will automatically be created and synced once you click on the Confirm button.
  2. Select from list – allows you to choose which projects to connect to Hubstaff. Check or uncheck project names on the left column. You can also enable the “Sync new projects daily” setting so all new projects are automatically linked to Hubstaff. You can also choose to manually sync projects. Choose either “Select All,” or “Unselect All,” or manually choose each project you wish to link to Hubstaff. Click on “Next” to move to the next step.

 

Step 6

Next, you’ll need to connect users to your integration. Make sure the “Automatically add new users” option is enabled so that all new users added to Hubstaff are automatically added to your integration. You can also choose to “Select all,” “Unselect all,” or manually choose which users you want working on your integration. Click Finish to end the setup.

Each user will be sent a confirmation email with a link to authenticate their account. After authenticating, they will be connected to your integration and will see the tasks assigned.

The desktop timer will have the tasks on the right side once the Jira project is selected.

The Jira integration logs time track by the user as time entries.

OPTIONAL

Hubstaff supports tracking time to Jira Epics. To do this, navigate to your Jira integration Settings page, then toggle the “Allow importing epics” option.

jira epics

Tasks might not sync right away. It can take approximately 5 minutes after linking your team. Also, please keep in mind that each time you add a new project or user to your project management tool, the integration needs be refreshed in Hubstaff for those changes to take effect, then link those accordingly.
Currently, when you add a new project in the project management third-party provider, you need to access the integrations page in Hubstaff > refresh the projects list > link the new project > assign team members to the Hubstaff project that’s linked to the newly added project.

Tasks can be completed outside of Hubstaff in the project management tool to have the time synced as well.

Tasks synchronized with integration will remain in Hubstaff as a simple task if the integration is deleted.

This integration supports logging time back to the integration as time entries. To learn more, click here.

Tasks cannot be marked as complete from the Hubstaff application as this integration does not support task completion.

Auto-memberships are disabled in Jira to avoid unnecessary access to projects. This is due to the default permissions scheme assigned to each project assigned by Jira. Please make sure that the permissions scheme on your Jira project linked in Hubstaff has assignable users set up properly. To do this, navigate to Project > Permissions > Assignable users and set it up so only the people who need to work on the project are added. Once the roster is correct, please contact us via [email protected] to enable auto-memberships for you.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No