Insightly time tracking integration setup

Hubstaff Insightly Integration

Our Insightly integration allows you to connect your Hubstaff and Insightly accounts so your team can see their assigned tasks in the desktop client and track time on them. Setting up the integration is a fairly simple process.

IMPORTANT: You must connect your account in order to see tasks that are assigned to you. Also, connecting an integration allows for time to be sent back to the third-party software.

Step 1

To get started, click on Integrations on the sidebar menu. Then make sure you have selected the correct organization on the top right corner of the page. Next, select the Insightly logo from the list of available integrations.

Step 2

You will be asked to give your integration a name. You can choose anything here, the name is only for your reference.

You will need to get your API Key from your Insightly account to complete the integration. To do this, click on the account menu (this is under the profile picture in the top right corner) and select the User Settings option.

Next, scroll down to the API Key section at the bottom of the page:

Copy your API Key and paste it into the space at Hubstaff that says, API Token:

With the API Key pasted, click the Create Integration button. You will then be taken to a screen where you can link your users and your projects. You will see a list of your Insightly projects and users on the left – click the Link button on the right to link them with Hubstaff projects and users (if no Hubstaff project exists, you can also create one on the spot). See how to link your Hubstaff projects and users and finish the integration setup.

Linking users is just like liking your projects. Just like with projects, users can only be linked one time per integration. You will link your projects and users on the same place, and when you have done that everything will be saved automatically.

After the integration syncs, any Hubstaff users that have been linked will see their assigned Insightly tasks in their Hubstaff application and be able to track time to them.

Tasks might not sync right away. It can take approximately 5 minutes after linking your team. Also, please keep in mind that each time you add a new project or user to your project management tool, the integration needs be refreshed in Hubstaff for those changes to take effect, then link those accordingly.

Currently, when you add a new project in the project management third-party provider, you need to access the integrations page in Hubstaff > refresh the projects list > link the new project > assign team members to the Hubstaff project that’s linked to the newly added project.

This integration supports logging time back to the integration as comments. To learn more, click here.

Tasks can be completed outside of Hubstaff in the project management tool to have the time synced as well.

Tasks synchronized with an integration will remain in Hubstaff as a simple task if the integration is deleted.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No