GitHub Integration Setup

If you use Github for project management, tracking time is possible with Hubstaff. The Hubstaff app allows time tracking to Github issues using our apps.

To enable this, you have to set it up in your Hubstaff account by following the steps below:

First, you must connect your account in order to see tasks that are assigned to you. Also, connecting an integration allows for time to be sent back to the third-party software.

Only the user with an Owner/Organization manager role on Hubstaff can set up an integration.

If you choose to write back time into GitHub issues, the time tracked will appear on the comments as shown here:

Time recorded to GitHub issues will appear as a comment within the issue page.

Step 1

Make sure you have selected the correct organization on the top right corner of the page. Click on Integrations on the sidebar menu in your Hubstaff account, then choose GitHub from the list of available integrations.

Step 2

After clicking GitHub,  you’ll be taken to the GitHub sign-in page. Log-in to your GitHub account to continue.

 

If you don’t have a GitHub organization, you won’t see anything at this step and won’t be able to complete the integration. The GitHub integration cannot connect with personal GitHub accounts.

In order for us to populate your GitHub organizations on our integration wizard drop-down and connect those with Hubstaff, you’ll need to remove third-party access restrictions in your GitHub organization settings. You can learn how to do this here.

Step 3

Once you’ve successfully signed in to your Github account, you’ll be taken to the organization selection page where you can choose the Github organization you’d like to connect to Hubstaff. Once you’ve chosen the correct organization, click “Next.”

Step 4

After selecting your GitHub organization, you can choose which projects you’d like to connect to Hubstaff. You may choose to sync all existing projects or select projects from a list.

Choose which projects you wish to connect to Hubstaff then click on the Confirm button. If the project name doesn’t exist in Hubstaff yet, new projects with the same name will automatically be created.

 

Step 5

Choose which users you need working on your Github integration. You have the option to either select/unselect all users, choose individual users, or automatically add new users. Click Finish to complete your integration set-up.

 

Step 6

Each user added to the integration will receive a confirmation email with a link to authenticate their account.

Clicking on the confirmation link will take them to the sign-in page in Github.

Click on the Connect button to sign-in to your GitHub account.

When authenticating a user’s account, please make sure that the user’s GitHub account is used to avoid tasks being assigned to a different user.

Step 7

Once all users have successfully authenticated with GitHub, you’ll see the tasks assigned to them on the To-do’s page as shown below:

 

Step 8

To track time to the integrated task, open your Hubstaff app, then click the project name. The issues should appear on the right-hand side of the app. Click the “Play” button next to an issue name to begin tracking time to them.

After connecting your repositories/projects and users, your users will be able to track time on their assigned issues from the Hubstaff app. When they are closed, the time spent working on them will be sent back to GitHub and posted in a comment on the issue.

Tasks might not sync right away. It can take approximately 5 minutes after linking your team. Also, please keep in mind that each time you add a new project or user to your project management tool, the integration needs be refreshed in Hubstaff for those changes to take effect, then link those accordingly.

Currently, when you add a new project in the project management third-party provider, you need to access the integrations page in Hubstaff > refresh the projects list > link the new project > assign team members to the Hubstaff project that’s linked to the newly added project.

This integration supports logging time back to the integration as comments. To learn more, click here.

Tasks can be completed outside of Hubstaff in the project management tool to have the time synced as well.

Tasks synchronized with an integration will remain in Hubstaff as a simple task if the integration is deleted.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No