Screenshot Blur

Screenshot Blur Feature

Hubstaff allows organization owners to add a blur to screenshots to prevent the collection of private data (click here for Hubstaff’s privacy policy). Once this feature is enabled, our system will blur the screenshots the Hubstaff app receives from the operating system. The blurring is applied on the device where the app is running, so the images that are uploaded to the Hubstaff server already has the blur effect applied. Once blurring is applied, it can not be reversed.

This feature can be added by navigating to Settings, click on Features, and select Screenshot Blur under the Activity menu.

From there, you can toggle the default setting to apply it to your entire organization. You can also enable or disable the blur setting for individual users.

Here is how the thumbnails will appear on the Activity page if the blur setting is turned on:

Here is how the blurred image will appear:

As illustrated in the image above, when the screenshot blur enabled it is still possible to gauge activity levels, as well as clearly see whether or not workers are being productive or are on sites like YouTube or Facebook. Please keep in mind that font size does play a role in how blurred text will appear.

Once the screenshot blur feature is enabled, the blur is applied while the screenshots are recorded. Once blurred, the screenshots cannot be returned back to its original resolution.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No