Setting up Hubstaff for Basecamp Time Tracking

Basecamp 2 & 3 Time Tracking Setup

If you use Basecamp for project management, tracking time is possible with Hubstaff. To enable this, you have to set it up in your Hubstaff account.

You must connect your account in order to see tasks that are assigned to you. Also, connecting an integration allows for time to be sent back to the third-party software.
Only the user with an Owner/Organization manager role on Basecamp can set up an integration.

 

 

When your team tracks time to Basecamp tasks via the Hubstaff application, the time will be written back to the Basecamp task via the comments section.

To learn more about how to connect Basecamp to Hubstaff, please follow the steps below:

Step 1

Click on Integrations on the sidebar menu. Make sure you have selected the correct organization on the top right corner of the page.

Then choose Basecamp 2 or Basecamp 3 from the list of integrations.

Step 2

You will need to grant Hubstaff access to your Basecamp account using oAuth. After clicking the Create Integration button, you will be taken to a window similar to the one below. If you are already logged into Basecamp, you won’t be asked to log in again.

Step 3

After successful authorization, choose the Basecamp account that you want to integrate and then click Next and move to the next step.

Step 4

You’ll be taken to the Sync projects page where you can choose whether to sync all projects from Basecamp, or select from a list of Basecamp projects to connect to Hubstaff projects.

  1. Sync all – all projects are synced to Hubstaff, and if a project with the same name doesn’t exist, each new project will automatically be created and synced once you click on the Confirm button.
  2. Select from list – allows you to choose which projects to connect to Hubstaff. Check or uncheck project names on the left column. You can also enable the “Sync new projects daily” setting so all new projects are automatically linked to Hubstaff. You can also choose to manually sync projects. Choose either “Select All,” or “Unselect All,” or manually choose each project you wish to link to Hubstaff. Click on “Next” to move to the next step.

 

Step 5

Next, you’ll need to connect users to your integration. Make sure the “Automatically add new users” option is enabled so that all new users added to Hubstaff are automatically added to your integration. You can also choose to “Select all,” “Unselect all,” or manually choose which users you want working on your integration. Click Finish to end the setup.

Each user will be sent a confirmation email with a link to authenticate their account. After authenticating, they will be connected to your integration and will see the tasks assigned.

Step 6

Tasks assigned in integrated Basecamp projects should appear on the Hubstaff application tasks pane. Click the Play button next to the task to start tracking time.

This is what it looks like:

After tracking time to a Basecamp task, and depending on your integration’s timelogging settings, the time will be written back to Basecamp as a comment:

Tasks might not sync right away. It can take approximately 5 minutes after linking your team. Also, please keep in mind that each time you add a new project or user to your project management tool, the integration needs be refreshed in Hubstaff for those changes to take effect, then link those accordingly.

Currently, when you add a new project in the project management third-party provider, you need to access the integrations page in Hubstaff > refresh the projects list > link the new project > assign team members to the Hubstaff project that’s linked to the newly added project.

Tasks can be completed outside of Hubstaff in the project management tool to have the time synced as well.

Subtasks are not supported with this integration.

This integration supports logging time back to the integration as time entries. To learn more, click here.

Basecamp’s API only allows up to 50 requests per 10-second period from the same IP address on the same account.

Tasks synchronized with an integration will remain in Hubstaff as a simple task if the integration is deleted.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No