Roles and Permissions FAQs

Click here to view our complete Roles and Permissions guide.

 

Question:

What can various user roles see in my organization?

Answer:

You can view this article to see what data your team can view: https://support.hubstaff.com/what-data-can-the-various-user-roles-see-in-hubstaff/

Question:

Can I move projects from one organization to another?

Answer:

Yes, you can follow the steps here to move projects from one organization to another: https://support.hubstaff.com/how-to-consolidate-your-organizations-moving-projects/.

Question:

What if I want a team member to be able to see everyone in Project X but not see other projects in my organization?

Answer:

They should be added as a user of the organization and a manager of the project. Click here to learn more: https://support.hubstaff.com/prevent-managers-seeing-projects/

Question:

When I remove a team member, will their records be removed as well?

Answer:

Removing team members will not cause data to be lost. You will still see their time records on reports, however, screenshots, app, url, and location data will be hidden until you re-invite them to your organization.

Question:

Can I remove projects?

Answer:

Yes. Simply go to Projects -> then on the far right side, click on Actions -> Archive

Question:

Do archived projects show up on the Dashboard or in Reports?

Answer:

No

Question:

Can I view/edit my team members’ shift schedules?

Answer:

Yes. On premium plans, you can set and view shifts for your team. Click here to read more about this.

Question:

Which projects should I see in project listings?

Answer:

You will see all projects within the organization under the Projects page. It doesn’t matter whether you are a member of the project or not.  However you will not see projects you aren’t a member of listed on the Dashboard or in the client.

Question:

Can I leave a project?

Answer:

Yes, doing so removes that project and any of its team members from the Dashboard as well as the client.  You can still view reports on that project under Reports.

Question:

Can I delete projects?

Answer:

Yes

Question:

Can I archive projects?

Answer:

Yes

Question:

Could I potentially see a different hourly totals for a project on the Dashboard then I would under Reports?

Answer:

No, each project listed on your Dashboard shows the total hours tracked on that specific project.  You may, however, not see every project within the organization you manage if you have left some of them.  Leaving a project removes it from your Dashboard and the client.  Though the organization total on the Dashboard is still computed using all of the projects in the organization.

Question:

What if  I’m a manager on the organization and a user on the project?  Do I still see everyone in the project?

Answer:

Yes.  The fact that you are a user on the project is ignored. You are considered to be a manager of the project even if you are NOT a member of that project.

Question:

If I’m a manager on the organization can I be set to manager of certain projects?

Answer:

Yes.  This allows you to edit and delete the project.

Question:

What if a project is archived, are the times tracked on that project removed from reports and on the dashboard?

Answer:

No

Question:

Can I remove a team member from a project that is set to a manager role on that project?

Answer:

Yes

Question:

Can I view/edit my team members’ shift schedules?

Answer:

Yes. On premium plans, you can set and view shifts for your team. Click here to read more about this.

Question:

Can I view/edit my team members’ pay rates?

Answer:

Managers are unable to set pay rates and can only view their own pay rate.

Question:

Can I create projects for myself?

Answer:

I’m afraid only organization owners are allowed to create projects.

Question:

Which projects should I see in project listings on the app and the projects page on the dashboard?

Answer:

Only projects that you belong to. If you can’t press the Play button on the app, this means that you have no projects assigned and you’ll have to contact the organization owner or manager to assign one for  you.

Question:

Can the project list differ from the client, dashboard and reports?

Answer:

No.  It will be the same list of projects everywhere.

Question:

How do I view a detailed report of the time that I worked yesterday?

Answer:

To view your detailed daily activity, navigate to Timesheets -> Daily. This will show your detailed start/stop activities for the day, as well as the total hours you’ve worked for that day.

Question:

Can I delete projects?

Answer:

No

Question:

Can I archive projects?

Answer:

No

Question:

Can I, as a user of the org and the project see others working on the same project as me?

Answer:

No.  You will not see anyone else.

Question:

If I’m a user on the organization can I be set to a manager of certain projects?

Answer:

Yes.  This allows you to see all members of the organization, control membership (add/delete) of them and archive the project.  You will also see all of the members’ time totals in reports.

Question:

If I’m a user on the organization can I be set to a manager of certain projects?

Answer:

Yes, you can be set as a manager on the project level by the organization owner or manager.

Question:

Can I, as a user of the organization and a manager of the project, edit or delete the project?

Answer:

No. You would need to be either an owner or manager of the organization.

Question:

If I’m a user on the organization and a manager of a project can I see it if it becomes archived?

Answer:

No.  It will not be visible anywhere to you.

Question:

Can I view my work schedule?

Answer:

Yes. You can view your own work schedule by navigating to “Schedules” on the sidebar. Note that you will not be able to view the schedules of other users.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No