About Hubstaff’s per-seat pricing

Hubstaff offers a Per-seat subscription pricing model. Under this pricing model, you have the flexibility of being able to add or remove members from your organization whenever you wish and save money by only paying for the number of members on your team.


Table of Contents


Plan cost

On any plan, the minimum cost is for 2 seats including users, organization owners, and managers.

Click here to see what features are available for each plan type and how much each plan costs.


When do charges start?

Under our Per-seat subscription model, you will be charged at the end of every billing cycle for every member within your organization. This will happen monthly, quarterly, or yearly depending on which plan duration you have selected.

Any add-ons will also be charged once your trial expires.

Even if the member does not track any time, or is disabled for tracking, they will still count towards your total member count. This also includes yourself as the account owner or any other administrators/managers within your organization as well.

For example, if you have 4 workers, plus yourself as the owner, you will be charged $12 x 5 = $60 per month for the Team plan with 5 members within your account.

The only team members who do not count towards your total plan size are those assigned with a Project Viewer role.


What happens when members are added or removed?

Your bill will include the total number of members on the People > Members section at the beginning of your billing period (except those on the Project Viewer role).

  • When you add a team member, you will be billed in full for monthly plans, and pro-rated for quarterly and annual plans. This goes the same for any add-ons applied to a subscription.
    • For example, you have 20 billed members, then in the middle of the month, you decide to add another seat, you will be billed in full for that team member for the entire month.
    • For quarterly and annual plans, adding a member mid-cycle will generate a pro-rated bill for the number of members added.
  • There are NO refunds/credits issued for removing members (or switching their role to Project Viewer) in the middle of a billing period, however, their “seat” remains open and can be replaced with another member during the billing period.
    billing open seatbilling unused seat
  • Add-ons will only charge filled seats, any open seats will not be included in the charge.
    insights add on added

 


Do you offer a Solo or 1 member plan?

Our only 1 member plan is our Free plan, which has a limited number of features available. Please see our guide here to learn more about the different features available per plan type. 

Our minimum member count for our paid plans starts at 2 members. So if you wish to use our other features you will need to purchase a paid plan, even if you only intend to have one member within your organization. 


Is there any way I can add a member into my organization without them counting towards my plan count?

If a member is assigned a Project Viewer role within your organization level, they will not be counted towards your total member count. The cost of your subscription will automatically be prorated and adjusted once the team member is set to the Project Viewer status. By default, all members added to an organization will be assigned as Project Viewers if a role hasn’t been pre-selected for them.

To learn more about the differences between the roles available at Hubstaff please see our guide here.


What happens when I change plans?

Plan change Scenario Result
Same plan, Different billing cycle A. Same plan, longer billing cycle (Grow monthly > Grow yearly) Scheduled to the end of the billing cycle.

Scenario: You are on a Grow monthly plan billed every 3rd of the month starting in January, then switch to Grow yearly on January 4th, your yearly plan will start on February 3rd.

B. Same plan, shorter billing cycle (Grow yearly > Grow monthly) Scheduled to the end of the billing cycle.

Scenario: You are on a Grow yearly plan billed on the 3rd of January, 2024, then switch to Grow monthly plan on January 4th, your monthly plan will start on January 3rd, 2025.

Different plan, Same billing cycle A. Upgraded plan, same billing cycle (Grow monthly > Team monthly) Charge extra immediately.

Scenario: You are on a Grow monthly plan that started on January 3rd, then you switch to the Team monthly plan on January 15th, you will immediately be billed on January 15th for all members.

B. Downgraded plan, same billing cycle (Team monthly > Grow monthly) Scheduled to the end of the billing cycle.

Scenario: You change your plan from Team monthly which was billed on January 3rd, then switch to Grow monthly on January 15th, your Grow plan will start on February 3rd.

Different plan, Different billing cycle A. Upgraded plan, longer billing cycle (Grow monthly > Team yearly) Charge extra immediately.

Scenario: You started with a Grow monthly plan which was billed on January 10, then switched to the Team yearly plan, you will immediately be billed for all active members for the annual plan.

B. Upgraded plan, shorter billing cycle (Grow yearly > Team monthly) Please contact support.
C. Downgraded plan, longer billing cycle (Team monthly > Grow yearly) Scheduled to the end of the billing cycle.

Scenario: You downgrade from Team monthly which started on January 10, down to Grow yearly plan on January 15th, the annual plan will start on February 10th.

D. Downgrade plan, shorter billing cycle (Team yearly > Grow monthly) Scheduled to the end of the billing cycle.

Scenario: You downgraded from Team yearly plan which began on January 10, to Grow monthly plan on January 15th, the monthly plan will start on January 10, the following year.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No