How Can I Limit Client (Viewer) Access to Assigned Projects Only?

If you need to provide access to your team’s activities but not allow users to modify data, you will want to add these users as viewers. Viewers can only observe what is going on in the project and how it is progressing. They don’t have access to add, edit, or modify any information. This is particularly useful when you have clients who wish to have access to employee activities and reports but don’t need to have the ability to change any information on the project.

Hubstaff’s role and permission system offer two ways of how we can achieve this:

  • You may add your clients and assign Project viewer roles to them. This is a role on the organization level.
  • You may add any of your existing members to a specific project and make them Viewers in that project, regardless of their basic role in your organization. For instance, you may have a member with a User role on the organization level, but they may be a Viewer only in a specific project or a Manager in another project. This is called Multiple project roles in Hubstaff.
Billing is based on organization roles set on the Members page. Users set as Project Viewers on the organization level are not included in your organization’s billing and cannot track time.
Clients (Dashboard > Clients, are entities that you assign to projects and send invoices) are different from Project viewers (members you invite to Hubstaff from Dashboard > Members).

Table of Contents

Invite clients to view assigned projects as Project viewers

To start with, you need to invite your clients just like any other member of your organization, the only difference is that in the Invite member window, you have to set their role as Project viewer and select the project they will be able to overview.

Step 1

Navigate to the Members section of the web dashboard.

Step 2

Click on the Invite member button.

Step 3

The Invite member dialog will appear. Add the client’s email address(es), set their role as Project viewer, select the projects, then hit Send to send the invite.

Once they register their account with Hubstaff, they will be able to only view the data associated with the project(s) you have added them to, but not any other projects.

If you need to add them to or remove them from any projects, you may do it either from the Members or from the Projects section as described here.

Change an existing team member’s role to a Project viewer

To change an existing user’s role to project viewer, please follow these steps:

Step 1

Navigate to the Members section of the web dashboard.

Step 2

On the Role column, next to the team member’s name, click on their role.

Step 3

A dialog box will appear. Select the Project viewer role, then hit Save.

Add members as Viewers of particular projects

You have an option to set different roles for the same team member in different projects.

Step 1

Navigate to the Members section of the web dashboard.

Step 2

On the Role column, next to the team member’s name, click on their role.

Step 3

A dialog box will appear. On the Role field, select the Multiple project roles option, then under the Project viewer field, select the projects where you want to give viewer access, finally hit Save.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No