What Does Immutable Time Mean?
Whenever any time is synchronized with an external system (be it a task system like Asana, a payroll system like Quickbooks , our internal team payments, or Shiftplanning) we mark it as “synced” to that system and it becomes immutable. We do this as we can not easily “reverse” the time in the remote tool and customers want the time in the two systems to match up.
If we were to allow you to ‘unmark” time as immutable then the time would end up being re-synchronized to the remote system and double-logging the time.
Immutable time refers to time that cannot be edited or deleted. There are four reasons that a time will be labelled immutable:
1. The time was marked as paid. This can be through time exports or payroll.
2. The time worked was through a task integration that supports write back and the time was written back to the 3rd party service. For example, say that a team member was working on an Asana task. They finish work on the task, and click the “Close” button on the Hubstaff app. This will send the time back to Asana and make that time “Immutable” on the Hubstaff side.
3. When the time is exported to a remote time tool like QBO and Shiftplanning, it will get marked as immutable.
4. When you generate an invoice for time that was tracked in Hubstaff. If the time is marked as immutable for any other reason (paid, project management tool export, etc.) then it can be added to an invoice as long as that immutable time has NOT already been added to another invoice.