Hubstaff Organizations Overview

This article gives you an overview of how your Hubstaff organization works.

Table of Contents

Organization Settings

Organization vs Projects

General Settings
  • This is where you can edit your organization’s name, currency, timezone, the day when the week starts etc. To have access to this page, click Settings in the main navigation, then select General from the drop down menu.

  • Billing Settings

    Here, you can upgrade/downgrade your plan subscription, change your card details and view your billing history and download Hubstaff subscription invoices. To access this page, go the Settings tab and select the Billing option from the drop down menu.

    Team Member Settings

    These settings customize the features pertaining to the members of your organization. To access this page, go the Settings tab and select the Members option from the drop down menu.

    Allowed apps – This allows you to prevent your team from tracking time through the mobile app or the Chrome extension and requires them to track time through the desktop app for Windows, Mac OS X, or Linux.

     Auto-add users – It allows you to auto-add organization members to every project that you create and assign them a specific role automatically. Click here to learn more.

    Idle timeout – This setting allows you to choose when the inactivity warning kicks in.

    Keep idle time – It allows you to choose if idle (inactive) time gets added or removed from the user’s work log automatically. The Idle timeout option always prompts the user and asks them if they want to keep idle time or remove it. Please click here to learn more.

    Member Settings – Features

    The features settings allow you to configure additional settings for your members. To access this page, go the Settings tab and select the Features option from the drop down menu.

    Activity

    Track apps & URLs – See which apps team members use when working. View detailed reports of time spent using each app. View detailed reports for URLs accessed and time spent on each. You may choose to track just Apps or Apps & URLs at the same time.

    Track Locations (Mobile only) – This feature applies to team members who track time through our mobile-based iOS and Android time tracking (GPS enabled) application. Our GPS time tracking iOS and Android application allows your team to track their time when they’re on the road or out of the office. The app will allow you to always know where your team is through sophisticated location monitoring.

    Screenshot frequency – This setting allows you to choose how many screenshots should be taken from the users computer every 10 minutes.

    Screenshot blur – This allows you to obfuscate the image being capture. Note that the blurred image is from the actual screenshot being taken and uploaded to the server.

    Delete screenshots – This setting allows you to assign a value (Yes or No) to your organization as a whole or to individual users as to whether they can delete individual screens that were previously recorded through the Hubstaff time tracker.

    Record activity – Allows you to turn activity tracking ON or OFF. 
     

    Timesheets

    Modify time – This setting allows you to assign a value (Yes or No) to your organization as a whole or to individual users as to whether they can delete activity that was previously recorded through the Hubstaff time tracker and add, remove or edit time manually.

    Require reason – This setting allows you to control if you’ll require your users to provide a reason whenever they edit their timesheets. It applies to the entire organization and it has an option to set it to individual users.
     

    Schedules

    Shift alerts – This applies to the Attendance Scheduling, which sends alerts when someone is late, misses, or abandons a shift. You may choose if management or the user receives alerts. You may also choose both.

    Invoice Settings

    Here, just like in your general settings, you can set up your organization’s address and Tax ID. You can also set the percentage of tax you want applied to your invoice total, add notes to your invoice, and set Net Terms.  Most importantly, you can add your company’s PayPal email address.

    Payments

    Here, you can specify the number of days you wish for payroll to run, after the pay period ends. (i.e. how many days you want to delay the payment). The delay is only applicable for organizations that are using the timesheets approval feature. In this sub-tab, you can also choose if the system will automatically label your users’ work hours as paid every payment period or not.

    Timeoff/Holiday

    Here, you can add your organization’s timeoff and holiday policy. You can check this guide how to set up timeoff/holiday policies.

    Product Links

    Product Links allows you to manage the settings for the integrations set up within your organization. For a full list of our available integrations please see our Integrations page here.

    Roles and Permissions

    An account can have a different role specified on an organization and project level. Your role in the organization is global which means if you’re the manager or owner of the organization, you’ll have access to all data from all projects under that organization. On the other hand, your role in a project is restricted to that project only. If you’re assigned to a project as “manager or viewer” (but only have user role in the organization level), you can access all data logged on that project (from all project members); but, not on the other projects where you’re assigned as “user”. The same rule is applied with regards to adding, editing and deleting data. This table best explains the Hubstaff permissions structure.

    To set up your user’s organization role, go to the members tab.

    To set up your users’ role on a project, go to the projects tab and edit their role.


    Pay rate and Bill rates.

    The rate you set on an organization level (from the Members tab) will be your users’ default pay/bill rate. If you’re working for different clients and you’re asking for a unique rate for each of their projects, you can set up your users’ pay/bill rate on the project level. The rate you set in the project/s will overwrite the rate in the organization level once your users logged time against the said project/s.

    Default pay/bill rate

    Project pay/bill rate


    The pay rate is the amount you would pay your team member, and the bill rate is the amount you can use for billing clients (this part is optional, and is designed for use with our invoicing feature).
    If a user is working on a project that has a pay/bill rate, that project’s rate will have priority over the rate set on the organization level.
    If a user is working on a project without a rate, the rate being set in the organization level will be used.

    • Was this Helpful ?
    • Yes   No
    • Was this Helpful ?
    • Yes   No