Gitlab Time Tracking Integration

Gitlab Time Tracking Integration

 You must connect your account in order to see tasks that are assigned to you. Also, connecting an integration allows for time to be sent back to the third-party software.

Step 1

To get started, click on “Integrations” on the sidebar menu. Then make sure you have selected the correct organization on the top right corner of the page.

integrations

Step 2

Next, select the Gitlab logo from the list of available integrations.

We have two separate integrations for Gitlab (hosted/self-hosted). Select the one that is appropriate for your needs.

Gitlab (self-hosted)

Enter  your Gitlab URL (if your server is self hosted) in the Site field, your Application id and Application secret. Please make sure that the SSL certificate is correct and valid if you have a self-hosted Gitlab account.  If you are using a self-hosted Gitlab you will need to update the redirect_uri to https://app.hubstaff.com/auth/success/gitlab.

Gitlab (cloud)

New integration - Gitlab (cloud)

You will be asked to grant access to Hubstaff to complete the integration:

gitlab hubstaff authorization

After authorizing the integration, you will be on the final step where you can link your Gitlab projects withHubstaff projects. You will see all your Gitlab projects on theleft hand side, and the “Link” button on the right. See how to link your Hubstaff projects and users and finish the integration setup.

Linking users is just like liking your projects. Just like with projects, users can only be linked one time per integration. You will link your projects and users on the same place, and when you have done that everything will be saved automatically.

After you’ve set up the integration, the app will be queued to sync automatically. When it has synced, your team will see their assigned issues in the app and be able to start tracking time to them.

Your team will be able to see issue due dates, descriptions, and updates. When they’ve finished work on an issue, they can click the close button to complete the issue and automatically have the time posted to Gitlab.

Tasks might not sync right away. It can take approximately 5 minutes after linking your team. Also, please keep in mind that each time you add a new project or user to your project management tool, the integration needs be refreshed in Hubstaff for those changes to take effect, then link those accordingly.

Currently, when you add a new project in the project management third-party provider, you need to access the integrations page in Hubstaff > refresh the projects list > link the new project > assign team members to the Hubstaff project that’s linked to the newly added project.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes   No